Stations of the Cross

Through art and prayer, walk with Jesus in his final hours.

The Stations of the Cross is a Christian liturgical tradition that dates to the 15th century. The Stations—14 in all—represent 14 episodes in Jesus’ last days, from his condemnation to death to the laying of his body in the tomb. Most come directly from the gospels. Others, such as Jesus falling three times and Veronica wiping blood and sweat from his face, reflect oral traditions from the early days of the Church.

Artistic representations of the Stations line the walls of churches (mostly Roman Catholic and Anglican) around the world. Each Lent, especially during Holy Week, worshipers step from station to station, contemplating the images, reading Scripture and speaking words of prayer.

With churches closed and most of us sheltering in place, we invite you to pray the Stations of the Cross online.

About the Art

We present to you two interpretations of the Stations, both by contemporary New York artists—Laura Fissinger and Laura James.

Although their subject matter was the same, the two artists traveled distinct paths in depicting these tragic, yet transcendent moments in the Christian story. Laura Fissinger’s Stations were commissioned by Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church as part of our sacred art collection. Laura James’ Stations were created as part of a humanitarian effort to restore earthquake-damaged churches in Haiti.

We invite you to read their stories.

In this presentation, Laura Fissinger’s Stations appear on the left and James’ on the right. Because she chose to focus on Jesus’ isolation and rejection in his final hours, Laura Fissinger purposefully does not include images for Station 5 (Simon of Cyrene) or Station 8 (Women of Jerusalem). 

Making Your Journey

To the right of this text, you will find a link taking you to the First Station.

At each Station, you will find the images, along with Scripture, reflection and prayer. Spend as much time at each Station as you like before advancing to the next. Look to the right of the text for the link that will take you on your way.

At the bottom of each page, you will find links to take you back to the previous Station or back to the start.

We hope this ancient spiritual practice will enrich your Lenten experience as we look together toward the miracle of Easter morning.

Come, let us walk with Christ along the way of the cross. Where he goes, we will follow.